The Waiting Room by Leah Kaminsky

REVIEW
There were certainly some poignant moments in this story that draw on tragedies of years past in relation to the Holocaust, especially the scenes where Dina is describing her mother and grandmother’s times at both the railway station, and the moment where her mother is faced with the most difficult choice one could imagine.
 The Author has challenged herself by setting this novel over the period of one day.  I did find the story had a tendency to drag a bit where her mother’s memories and tales interrupted the forward movement of the story.  That said, the transitions back to the present time and Dina’s life were clear.
I found Dina’s character to be very indecisive and uncaring of others. I personally would have preferred her to be stronger, however, given the myriad issues around her it was a wonder she managed to get through the day.
The story gave me an understanding of the life one would live under fear of a terrorist attack in a country with such diverse nationalities.
Overall and interesting read.
This review placed on Goodreads
Link to Publisher – Random House

About Jeannette

I'm living the dream, reading my way around this country and living in a 5th wheeler caravan.
This entry was posted in General fiction - adult and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I hope you found my review helpful