Not a Sound by Heather Gudenkauf

Book blurb…

When a tragic accident leaves nurse Amelia Winn deaf, she spirals into a depression that ultimately causes her to lose everything that matters — her job, her husband, David, and her stepdaughter, Nora. Now, two years later and with the help of her hearing dog, Stitch, she is finally getting back on her feet. But when she discovers the body of a fellow nurse in the dense bush by the river, deep in the woods near her cabin, she is plunged into a disturbing mystery that could shatter the carefully reconstructed pieces of her life all over again.

As clues begin to surface, Amelia finds herself swept into an investigation that hits all too close to home. But how much is she willing to risk in order to uncover the truth and bring a killer to justice?

My thoughts…

I thoroughly enjoyed this story (and not just because it features a faithful canine companion named Stitch). The assistance dog, as a character, added a uniqueness to this novel, which I really loved.

My feelings about the character, Amelia, switched from being annoyed AT her, to feeling scared FOR her, then to cheering her on in her quest (while coping with personal circumstances I could not imagine having to endure).

Creating such a range of emotions in the reader demonstrates how capable this author is at their craft. I enjoy a story written in first person, usually because the pace is such that I cannot put the book down. This was definitely the case when reading Not A Sound.

Not the first time I have read this author and certainly not the last.

This review is also on Goodreads

Not a Sound published by Harlequin (Australia) TEEN/MIRA

About Jeannette

I'm living the dream, reading my way around this country and living in a 5th wheeler caravan.
This entry was posted in Mystery - Thrillers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I hope you found my review helpful

