Combatting Fear by Sandy Vaile

Book blurb…

How far would you go to save a child that wasn’t yours?

Mild-mannered kindergarten teacher Neve Botticelli leads a double life. Thanks to a childhood tragedy and her paranoid father, she’s a trained warrior with extreme survival skills who lives off the grid.

When self-made billionaire Micah Kincaid storms into town in search of his son, Rowan, he’s pushy, entitled, and stands for everything she despises. Micah can’t believe a kindergarten teacher is barring the way to him getting crucial information or even just a glimpse of the boy his cheating ex kidnapped. They share only one thing in common: either will do anything to protect the four-year-old, who they soon discover is being held for ransom by an outlaw motorcycle gang.

But as they work together to get Rowan back, they start to see beyond each other’s masks. Could falling in love be even more dangerous than hunting down deadly criminals?

My thoughts…

I love a good suspense novel and I love Australian settings. And while I am not so keen on the romance genre, this author has won me over by adding a suspenseful tale that puts her somewhere between two of my favourite Aussie romantic suspense authors – Helene Young and Bronwyn Parry.

The quality of the writing (advance copies are never error free in my experience) showed an author who has made every word count and every scene advance the story so well that at one point I said to myself, “Stop, take a breath, slow down so you can appreciate the journey.”

As for the characters, I loved both Neve and Micah for their commitment to finding Rowan, regardless of the difficulties.

Combatting Fear is a heartwarming and suspenseful story about two people dedicated to keeping a family safe and prepared to make sacrifices for love.

This was my first time reading a story by Sandy Vaile and won’t it be my last.

Here is how you can connect with Sandy and find out more about her work:

Romantic Suspense
Sensuality Level: Behind Closed Doors

Author Bio:
 Sandy Vaile is an Australian motorbike-riding daredevil who isn’t content with a story unless there’s a courageous heroine and a dead body.

Find Sandy Vaile at www.sandyvaile.com, on Facebook, and on Twitter @Sandy_Vaile.

Publisher’s page: http://www.crimsonromance.com/romantic-suspense-novels/combatting-fear/

Review is also posted on Goodreads and Australian Women Writers Challenge

 

About Jeannette

I'm living the dream, reading my way around this country and living in a 5th wheeler caravan.
This entry was posted in Australian fiction, Romance, Suspense and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Combatting Fear by Sandy Vaile

  1. sandyvaile says:

    What a wonderful and insightful review. I totally sympathise with being so engrossed in a book that you speed through it, and need to remind yourself to take a breath.

    Liked by 1 person

I hope you found my review helpful

