Cast Iron by Peter May

Book blurb…

In 1989, a killer dumped the body of twenty-year-old Lucie Martin into a picturesque lake in the West of France. Fourteen years later, during a summer heat wave, a drought exposed her remains – bleached bones amid the scorched mud and slime.

No one was ever convicted of her murder. But now, forensic expert Enzo Macleod is reviewing this stone cold case – the toughest of those he has been challenged to solve.

Yet when Enzo finds a flaw in the original evidence surrounding Lucie’s murder, he opens a Pandora’s box that not only raises old ghosts but endangers his entire family.

My thoughts…

I had the privilege of reading a book written by Peter May last year, called Coffin Road, and the grab from my review at the time was        “An outstanding story.“  The author’s name, his evocative writing style and the story has stayed with me, so when I saw this new release, titled Cast Iron, I was excited to read it. As suspected, I was not disappointed.

Cast Iron is my first read in the series featuring character, Enzo, and I thoroughly enjoyed it and look forward to future stories.  Often when you start reading a series several books in you wonder if there will be missing links preventing you from catching up on the characters’ lives. This is not the case with books written by Peter May. I recognised the insights into the past he provided, but they were well written and just enough to not take your attention away from the story.

Based on my two experiences with this author I would suggest any novel he has written, or writes in the future, should go straight on your to-be-read list.

Review also posted on Goodreads

About Jeannette

I'm living the dream, reading my way around this country and living in a 5th wheeler caravan.
This entry was posted in Crime, Mystery - Thrillers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cast Iron by Peter May

  1. Kris Lewis says:

    Thanks Jeannette for a good review. In fact I’ve just finished reading my first Peter May book (The Black House). It was very good. The lead character is Detective Fin Macleod and I really warmed to him. It seems this book that you’ve reviewed has a different lead character. Anyway, I’ll be sure to look out for any Peter May books from now on.

    Like

I hope you found my review helpful

