The Family Secret by Fiona Palmer

Book blurb…

 From one of Australia’s favourite storytellers comes a heartwarming story spanning three generations about when to fight and when to surrender – and how new love can heal old wounds.

Kim Richards is a creative woman of the land, a rural ambassador who’s renowned for her contribution to her community. But deep down, she’s lonely. She’s already watched the man she loves falls for someone else, and her dream of starting her own family feels like it’s slipping through her fingers.

Enter Charlie McNamara, an older man who’s arrived in Lake Grace on business. Sparks fly between Kim and Charlie, but he seems to have a hidden agenda and a past life he’s trying to hide.

They’re both drawn to local hermit Harry, a Vietnam veteran who’s haunted by memories from the war. What ties these lost souls together? Can they solve a long-held family mystery and heal fractures of the heart?

‘Fiona Palmer has well and truly earned her place as a leading writer of one of Australia’s much loved genres.’ Countryman

My thoughts…

A story that is heartwarming, complex enough to capture and hold me and at the same time mimics real life in our magnificent country.

Another great read from Australian author, Fiona Palmer who has gone from strength to strength since her debut, The Family Farm.

I loved reading The Family Secret — a story that brought a smile to my face and a tear to my eye at the most unexpected and happy moments.  I was pleased to see Kim get her own story. She is such a great character.  As for Charlie, the author created a man I could visualise and who I was unsure about until the very end (which is probably why I loved him).

A highlight is the way the author wove the lives of John and Harry (and the Vietnam thread) into the plot. Well done, Fiona. A book that is deserving of the high praise it’s receiving. I look forward to the next book.

About Jeannette

I'm living the dream, reading my way around this country and living in a 5th wheeler caravan.
This entry was posted in Australian fiction, Rural fiction, Women's fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Family Secret by Fiona Palmer

  1. I know how much you enjoyed this story. I can always tell.

    Like

  2. Fiona Palmer says:

    Oh I’m so glad! 🙂 I loved these characters. Xxx

    Like

I hope you found my review helpful

