Journey’s End by Jennifer Scoullar

Book blurb…

From the author of Currawong Creek and Turtle Reef comes a beautiful story of family, friendship and the healing power of love.

When Sydney botanist Kim Sullivan and her husband inherit Journey’s End, a rundown farm high on the Great Eastern Escarpment, they dream of one day restoring it to its natural state. Ten years later, however, Kim is tragically widowed. Selling up is the only practical option, so she and her children head to the mountains to organise the sale. The last thing Kim expects is for Journey’s End to cast its wild spell on them all.

The family decides to stay, and Kim forges on with plans to rewild the property, propagating plants and acquiring a menagerie of native animals. But wayward wildlife, hostile farmers and her own lingering grief make the task seem hopeless. That is, until she meets the mysterious Taj, a man who has a way with animals. Kim begins to feel that she might find love again. But Taj has his own tragic past – one that could drive a wedge between them that can not be overcome . . .

My thoughts…

I read Turtle Reef last year and as a result promised myself I’d read Jennifer’s next book and I was truly rewarded.  I love reading well plotted stories that create a passion in me for the characters and their causes.  This was one of those books.  Well done Jennifer Scoullar.

Kim’s time at Journey’s End certainly presents her with some of life’s lessons, but it also shows her the way to mend the hearts of her children, as well as her own.

I loved the character Taj and found his aura drawing me to him.  As a character, Taj was so well written, so deep and complex, he was almost tangible.  I felt I was there on the page with him, willing him to overcome the feelings that were holding him back.

As for Ben, you’ll have to read the story and experience the emotions he evokes.

A journey through tragedy that will tear at your heart, have you barrack for love and make you want to live on this property high on the Great Escarpment.

This review is also on Goodreads and Australian Women Writers Challenge

About Jeannette

I'm living the dream, reading my way around this country and living in a 5th wheeler caravan.
This entry was posted in Australian fiction, General fiction - adult, Women's fiction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Journey’s End by Jennifer Scoullar

  1. Thanks so much Jenn. I’ve just started your new one, The Other Side Of The Season. Am loving it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Janine K says:

    In fact you two Jenn’s write in a very similar style!! Go the Jenn’s 😀😀

    Like

I hope you found my review helpful

