Without Trace by Simon Booker

Book Blurb…

Her daughter missing, her childhood sweetheart the only suspect: a gripping and suspenseful debut thriller

For four long years, journalist Morgan Vine has campaigned for the release of her childhood sweetheart Danny Kilcannon – convicted, on dubious evidence, of murdering his 14 year-old stepdaughter.

When a key witness recants, Danny is released from prison. With nowhere else to go, he relies on single mum Morgan and her teenage daughter, Lissa.

But then Lissa goes missing.

With her own child now at risk, Morgan must re-think all she knows about her old flame – ‘the one that got away’. As the media storm around the mysterious disappearance intensifies and shocking revelations emerge, she is forced to confront the ultimate question: Who can we trust…?

My thoughts…

Who can we trust? What a great premise for a story.

Without Trace, by Simon Booker, is exceptional reading.

If my Kindle had pages they would have been turning so fast…! And once I reached the 30% mark there was no way I could put it down, no matter what else needed my attention.

I found myself so caught up in this story and feeling sorry for Danny and his predicament. But soon I was wondering if they were wasted emotions. While Booker had me swinging from guilty to innocent and back to guilty again (several times over) the main character, Morgan, who had campaigned to have Danny released from jail at the beginning of the book, desperately needs to believe he was innocent. Soon enough, Morgan finds herself starting to wonder about her childhood sweetheart, especially as everyone around her is convinced Danny Kilcannon should have stayed in prison for the murder of his stepdaughter.

Was Morgan’s belief in Danny misplaced? I highly recommend you read Without Trace for yourself and find out.

A must-read thriller, full of suspense, that will have you turning the pages.

This review has been listed on Goodreads

About Jeannette

I'm living the dream, reading my way around this country and living in a 5th wheeler caravan.
This entry was posted in Crime, Mystery - Thrillers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Without Trace by Simon Booker

  1. Kris says:

    Definitely sounds like my sort of book – but only to be started it seems when I don’t have too many jobs to do! Thanks Jeannette.

    Like

I hope you found my review helpful

