Trust No One by Clare Donoghue

Book blurb…

A marriage is what you make it, isn’t it? It’s what you put into it. It’s not just about love, it’s about understanding another person’s point of view. Sometimes there are things you find out about yourself and each other which means the marriage has to end. Sad, particularly when kids are involved – but all pretty normal. Normal that is, until there’s a murder. DS Jane Bennett and DI Mike Lockyer are called in to investigate one of the South London murder squad’s most difficult and distressing cases yet – where family and friends come under scrutiny in the hardest of circumstances.

My thoughts…  

I really enjoy a book that keeps me guessing and Trust No One had this by the bucketload. The story follows a murder investigation and all the twists and turns you expect when you have a number of possible suspects—all family and friends of the victim. Hidden in the plot was also a lot I did’t expect. The ending, in particular, had me close this book feeling very satisfied.

I was drawn to the character, DS Jane Bennett. I liked how she was plagued with issues external to the job of finding the killer. This addition to the story made her investigation a little more challenging as she juggled her own emotions and conflicts, never letting them get in the way. (A snapshot of what it must be like for investigators to divide themselves between the job and their own lives.)

The plot was well paced and kept me reading well into the night. There were many suspects to keep me guessing who the killer might be and along the way I found myself wanting to prompt the investigators to ask questions of the suspects.

As for who did it? You will have to read Trust No One to find out.

Trust me… If you like a good mystery this will definitely tick the box.

This review has been placed on Goodreads and The Reading Room

About Jeannette

I'm living the dream, reading my way around this country and living in a 5th wheeler caravan.
This entry was posted in General fiction - adult and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I hope you found my review helpful

