The Secret Years by Barbara Hannay

I thought it appropriate to read a Queensland author as I am sitting here in lovely Rockhampton.

The Secret Years by Queensland author, Barbara Hannay, captivated me as much as the descriptions of the wild beauty of the Australian bush and the rugged and picturesque south coast of England. The Author’s style of writing had me side by side with the characters.

The story had a number of deeply moving scenes where both heartbreak and heroism were portrayed. The different generations showed how we are often linked to the past more than we know.

I enjoyed the relationship between Georgina and Harry the most as I barracked for them to share their love for one another. They both suffered hardships during the war which added character depth to them.

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes generational stories that are set in the Australian outback.

Link to Penguin Australia.

I am reading my way around Australia in a fifth wheeler caravan with a one-eyed dog and a writer on board.  What else can I do?

11951233_980800621941498_2478626016866474907_n

readroundoz profile

Dude dog with books

 

 

About Jeannette

I'm living the dream, reading my way around this country and living in a 5th wheeler caravan.
This entry was posted in Australian fiction, Historical Fiction, Romance, Rural fiction and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I hope you found my review helpful

